Current location - Recipe Complete Network - Complete cookbook of home-style dishes - Is Buddha's egg milk vegetarian?
Is Buddha's egg milk vegetarian?
Yes, Buddhism believes that cattle and sheep eat grass as their business, so the milk they produce does not contain the smell of animal products. Milk is the juice that breeds life, but it does not harm life, so drinking dairy products is not killing. At the same time, people's intake of milk has no effect on cattle and sheep themselves and their young, so drinking dairy products is not meat-eating or breaking the rules.

Just like when we eat eggs and people see us, I can't always explain to them. My eggs are raised and lifeless. Buddhists still insist on not eating eggs to avoid suspicion.

Buddhists have different understandings of the concept of vegetarian food;

The so-called meat in ancient Buddhism does not necessarily mean killing animals, such as garlic and onions. Eating it will leave a pungent smell, which is a great disrespect to the Buddha. This irritating plant is also classified as meat, and the Shurangama Sutra says that it is not a Buddhist disciple who eats meat. In Buddhism, eating eggs is meat, because eggs are raw.

Besides, who distinguishes eggs one by one, so eating eggs is meat and drinking milk is vegetarian. Drinking milk does not kill, and there is no suspicion of killing, so Buddhists are vegetarian when drinking milk.