The ancients called animal food "fishy". The so-called not eating fishy, not only not eating fish, but also including all animal foods.
Now generally speaking, "meat dishes" refer to animal ingredients.
Therefore, whether garlic is a meat dish depends on your starting point: if you fast, read Buddha, cultivate one's morality and realize Tao, it is "meat"; If you just want to have a healthy diet, it is a vegetarian.
Personal opinion, for reference.